Women Empowering Women for Indian Nations
Engage.  Inspire.  Empower.
WEWIN Board Members
  1. Executive Director
    Susan Masten
  2. Executive Director
    Veronica Homer
  3. Executive Director
    Melanie Benjamin
    (Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe)
  4. Executive Director
    Pat Parker
  5. Executive Director
    Rachel Joseph
    (Lone Pine Paiute Shoshone)
  6. Executive Director
    Nora McDowell
    (Fort Mohave)
  1. Executive Director
    Cecilia Fire Thunder
    (Oglala Sioux)
  2. Executive Director
    Margo Gray
In Memoriam
Wilma Mankiller
WEWIN Founding Board Member
Former Chief, Cherokee Nation


We, the Indian women founders, who have common values and goals, do hereby establish “Women Empowering Women for Indian Nations because we are committed and dedicated to the following purposes”:

To strengthen and sustain tribal cultures for the benefit and destiny of the children; To educate about tribal cultures, the history of native people, the inherent rights we exercise for the good of our people and others, and of current issues that affect our well being; To promote honest dignified tribal leadership who reflect pride for those we represent; To support and encourage tribal leadership;

To install a balance between service and solitude and between fulfilling responsibilities and devotion to loved ones.

To express encouragement, understanding, and joy to others dedicated to following the guidance of our creator and serving our communities as role models.